

Association of Latin American Nuclear Physics and Applications (ALAFNA)

Bylaws

ALAFNA stands for the ASOCIACIÓN LATINO-AMERICANA DE FÍSICA NUCLEAR Y APLICACIONES (Spanish) and ASSOCIAÇÃO LATINO-AMERICANA DE FÍSICA NUCLEAR E APLICAÇÕES (Portuguese). ALAFNA is a regional association of professionals in nuclear science and its applications, who belong to Latin American countries and participate in ALAFNA according to the rules below.

ALAFNA was formed in 2009 on the occasion of the VIII Latin American Symposium on Nuclear Physics and Applications that took place in Santiago, Chile.

Objectives

- 1. To strengthen existing ties among the Latin American communities doing nuclear research and applications and to foster collaborations and the promotion of activities. The official activity supported by ALAFNA is the LASNPA, Latin American Symposium on Nuclear Physics and Applications, that takes place every two years. Other activities are the organization and promotion of symposia, workshops, schools, university-institution cooperation and exchange programs for students, and the production of educational and outreach material.
- 2. To educate the scientific community and the general public through the promotion of nuclear physics and the peaceful uses of nuclear technology.
- 3. To do periodic overall assessments of nuclear science in Latin America in the context of worldwide activities.
- 4. To represent the Latin American Nuclear Physics and Applications communities in other expert communities such as NuPECC, ANPhA, and other similar scientific international bodies.

Membership

- 1. ALAFNA is a regional association of professionals. The members of ALAFNA must belong to organizations in nuclear science in Latin America. In exceptional situations, they can also be Latin American scientists working in a nuclear science organization in other countries.
- 2. The Latin American countries that have organized LASNPA meetings (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela) can be represented in ALAFNA by their professionals. As soon as a new country completes the organization of a LASNPA, its representatives can become ALAFNA members.
- 3. The number of ALAFNA members from a member country is at most three. Each country chooses its own method of naming its representatives. Each representative will be member of ALAFNA during four years after a nomination. In exceptional cases, a country may propose to be represented by a Latin American nuclear scientist working in another country.

Governance

- 1. ALAFNA is governed by a Board composed of four members elected for one term by the members among the current membership by a simple majority. Elections take place every two years, which is called "a term". The election is electronic. No immediate reelection for the same or a different position in the Board is permitted.
- 2. The members of the Board are the Immediate-Past-Chair, the Chair, the Vice-Chair, and the Secretary.
- 3. The Vice-Chair and the Secretary are elected every term.
- 4. After finishing the term the Vice-Chair was elected for, the Vice-Chair becomes the next term Chair, if willing to, after confirmation by the ALAFNA general meeting.
- 5. After finishing the term the Chair was elected for, the Chair becomes the next term Immediate-Past-Chair, if willing to, after confirmation by the ALAFNA general meeting.
- 6. The limit of four years (Membership item 3.) does not apply to the person serving consecutively as Vice-Chair, Chair, and Immediate-Past-Chair, who will cease being a member after six years in the Board.
- 7. The Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary will be responsible to promote the activities mentioned in the Objectives during their term as members of the Board.
- 8. The appropriate transfer of executive experience and from one term to the next is guaranteed by the presence of the Immediate-Past-Chair.
- 9. ALAFNA Board meetings will be held at least once a year, with remote (electronic) presence of the Board members.
- 10. The Chair will call the Board meetings and prepare the agenda based on the input from the Board and the ALAFNA members. The Chair is responsible for maintaining a public web site where information, documents, and news will be published. The Vice-Chair will assist the Chair in the execution of activities and, during the LASNPA event, will organize the selection of the next LASNPA site. The Secretary is responsible for the due-time distribution of the agenda, the production of meeting minutes, and their subsequent distribution among the ALAFNA members.
- 11. An ALAFNA general meeting, with the face-to-face or remote presence of the ALAFNA members, will be called by the Board and held during each LASNPA.

Steering Committee

- 1. The initial operation of ALAFNA has been overseen by a steering committee formed by the founders of the organization, increased every 2 years by the addition of LASNPA organizers.
- 2. The steering committee has been responsible for the establishment of the ALAFNA bylaws, the representation of ALAFNA in expert committees and international organizations, and the overall promotion of ALAFNA's mission and goals in the regional and international scientific community.
- 3. The steering committee will be dissolved as soon as the first ALAFNA Board is established.

These bylaws were approved by a majority of votes (13 votes for this proposal, 4 votes for an alternative proposal, 9 abstentions) by the 26 current members of the Steering Committee invited to vote by email on September 2020. The Steering Committee co-chairs, Andrés Kreiner, Buenos Aires, Argentina, and Alinka Lépine-Szily, São Paulo, Brazil, acted as the election organizers, received and counted the votes.

Steering Committee members, invited to vote on the bylaws:

Ricardo Alarcón, USA, ricardo.alarcon@asu.edu Hugo Arellano, Chile, arellano@dfi.uchile.cl Edy Ayala, Ecuador, edy.ayala@epn.edu.ec Haydn Barros, Venezuela, lab.nuclear@gmail.com Carlos Bertulani, USA, carlos.bertulani@tamuc.edu María-Ester Brandan, Mexico, brandan@fisica.unam.mx Roelof Bijker, Mexico, bijker@nucleares.unam.mx Laszlo Sajo Bohus, Venezuela, sajobohus@gmail.com Ana Cabal Rodríguez, Cuba, ana.cabal@uantwerpen.be Fernando Cristancho, Colombia, lfcristanchom@unal.edu.co Mario Cubero, Costa Rica, mario.cubero@ucr.ac.cr Raúl Donangelo, Uruguay, rdonangelo@gmail.com Carlos Granja, Czech Republic, carlos.granja@advacam.cz Andrés Kreiner, Argentina, kreiner@tandar.cnea.gov.ar Alinka Lépine-Szily, Brazil, alinka@if.usp.br Rubens Lichtenthäler, Brazil, rubens@if.usp.br Jorge López, USA, jorgelopez@utep.edu Nilberto H. Medina, Brazil, medina@if.usp.br Modesto Montova, Peru, modesto montova@vahoo.com Oscar Naviliat Cuncic, France, naviliat@lpccaen.in2p3.fr Alberto Pacheco, Argentina, pacheco@tandar.cnea.gov.ar Roberto V. Ribas, Brazil, rvribas@if.usp.br Norberto Scoccola, Argentina, scoccola@tandar.cnea.gov.ar Diego A. Torres Galindo, Colombia, datorresg@unal.edu.co Alejandro Valda, Argentina, avalda@unsam.edu.ar Luz Stella Veloza, Colombia, lsvelozas@unal.edu.co

ALAFNA, 19 January 2021